Friday, September 26, 2008

career/future/internship

So, it's done. I've submitted it. It's all up to whoever is in charge now, mainly I guess some Jon Davies guy. That's right folks, Nicole E. Owen has submitted her first resume and cover letter of her career today, not but one minute ago. (The wonders of e-mail making this whole business non-refundable, non-returnable, non-wait-I-didn't-really-want-to-send-that-able, on a click of a button.) I'm pretty sure it's terrible anyway. Honestly, writing both of those things was like pulling teeth, but now I have a presentable resume (presumably -- I've taken it to the Career Center twice for revision) and a cover letter that I can change and tweak for future use (presuming it isn't terrible). I thought for maybe a split second about posting those said things up here, but then I decided that I didn't want any more "constructive criticism", I just can't handle anyone telling "oh maybe you shouldn't have written that part", or "I saw a type in the second paragraph", not that anyone has told me these things, as no one reviewed my cover letter before I sent it out. Not that it would make much difference since the pool of practical skills that I have to draw from and expound upon comes only from my various part-time/full-time jobs that I've had, and while may be excellent sources for any management position, are probably not the best references for a publishing type position.

Then I have to remember to take a deep breath and figure that this is an unpaid internship, right in Athens, from UGA itself, and probably they have many, if not most, candidates who come to them without much prior experience, and probably none certainly with the work ethic that I have. And I have to remember that they are there to give us the experience so that we do have experience to write about for yet other internships that actually REQUIRE experience for the internship. Which seems like a vicious cycle of interning; must have experience interning to intern. So, such is life. As it is, my resume will already be fleshing out after the 29th of September because I signed up for a "Job Shadow Day" workshop. Yeah, one day, but every little bit helps I'd imagine. And if I get this one, then in the summer maybe I can get Peachtree Publishing (it publishes children's books in Atlanta). Then? Well by then, gosh darnit, that should be enough experience to get to the Random House Apprenticeship Program in New York! That'd be neat. Couldn't actually work there, apparently it's a terrible work environment with little room to advance, but the experience would be one of a kind.

Which brings me to probably the other question of the day. What about going into the Air Force. So, I talked to this Captain Kessler who is a public affairs officer at Eglin Air Force Base. We talked for about 40 minutes or so about public affairs and what it's all about. Unfortunately, she didn't tell me anything I didn't already basically know, or guess, and what she did tell me doesn't make feel really confident about wanting to pursue that avenue. It's not that I couldn't do that job, it's just that, if I wanted to be in public relations, I would be a public relations major, and frankly being a liaison and event planner just really isn't my thing. I could do the crisis management part, information dissemination part, base/personnel morale part. I could do it, but I just don't know if that's what I want to do. On the other hand, it is only four years, and I could get my master's and get some valuable leadership experience while getting paid better than my peers and having health insurance and a place to live. I guess my biggest problem with it is she said that there is very little structure, and frankly, I love structure, give me structure, I eat structure for breakfast. I'm a micro-manager and a planner, but if I have no structure, I don't know what to do and I flounder in my own details. So, maybe I could just scrap PAO and go into Intelligence.

Actually, there's this handy-dandy website that has every Air Force officer position available with a description of each one, and actually, Intelligence Officer seems to be more of a fit for my personality and mind than the description for PAO. Maybe I should talk to an Intelligence Officer now to get the scoop on that. I'd imagine there would be more structure in intelligence in any case. That job description was followed closely to a Planning and Programming Officer, which seemed a tad bit duller than the former.

At any rate, I guess I've still got time to figure it all out. After this externship, that should be enlightening, and hopefully I can get this internship, which will also be enlightening, and then maybe I'll know. It's really just about keeping all my options available to me right now.

Meanwhile, as long as I continue to be paid by the hour, I will continue to be a work-a-holic. I have decided that there is a fine line between work ethic and workaholism, and I'm hoping I haven't crossed that line. But sometimes I wonder.

Monday, September 22, 2008

roommates

So, finally I have been forcefully dragged to my blog. Not for updates. Not for pleasantries about my life. No, this one is to prevent me from strangling my new roommates, actually really just the girl, AND PEOPLE WONDER WHY I DONT LIKE GIRLS?!! No, this is a whole new breed of hatred of girls. I mean, in general I just don't deal with ditsy la-la girls, and girls that don't have a sense of humor comparable to mine. However, this girl that I live with seems to have crossed all bounds! Honestly. I'm going to start documenting with pictures my ongoing problems with her as to stave off the anger I feel inside. Please refer to August 26th blog about how my patience was being tried. I didn't go into details then, but I will now -- all the glorious details.

So, roommates. Well at first they didn't seem so bad, sort of keep to themselves really. Then she started being a girl, the kind of girl that makes me not like girls. First it was the way she'd bring up problems she had by starting all sentences with "Uhm, so, what are you going to do about ..." Okay, well that was fine, she's new in the apartment, understandable. "What are you going to do about the trash can, because right now we don't have one." Like I didn't notice we didn't have a trash can? Like if we had a trash can then I would be putting trash in it... and meanwhile, what we're doing about not having a trash can is putting trash in a bag. That's what we're doing about a trash can! Now, note that I had just dropped about $250 on kitchen supplies and really, I just was done with getting kitchen supplies. So, they went out and bought a trash can (and side note that she also bought a mini-fridge and some other crap). Anyway, so whatever. A few days later... "Uhm, so what are you guys going to do about that computer (John was fixing his computer out on the dining room table) because we'll need to get another one because I need a table to actually sit at." Note here that there was half the table available for sitting. Also note (which was not obvious at that time) that she doesn't cook, she just eats Lean Cuisine microwave meals, nor do her and her boyfriend eat together 'at the table' so really I just don't see what the issue was. Then, THEN, started the Notes on the Fridge Saga. I'm sorry to say that as of this entry, Notes on the Fridge has gone on for quite some time with the notes becoming more and more exasperating.

"Paul and I would like 1/2 of the fridge space, and 1/2 of the freezer space as well as the door space, Thank you." -- shortly after this I find that all my stuff has been moved to the right side of the fridge (exactly 1/2) and all her stuff is on the other side of the fridge. My side: food, milk, juice, more food, leftovers, dressings, vegatables -- you know, food type items. Her side: milk, juice, bottled water (a whole case), soda (several "shelf-mate" kinds, Gatorade, fruit -- you know, snacks and beverages.

a week or so later...

"Please respect Paul and my side of the fridge. Thank you." -- reason, something we had in the freezer had fallen over onto their side. My freezer side: pizza, meat, tater tots/french fries, frozen veggies, ice cream, frozen meals. Her side: Lean Cuisine and ice cream (not low fat) >> anyone wonder at the logic here?

a few days or so later...

"If you don't have room on your side, don't take up our side. Thanks." -- reason, this one was written by Paul, (notable different handwriting) and was due to the fact that apparently our butter was touching his tomatoes. But, considering that I had JUST come home from the store not TWO hours earlier, I knew EXACTLY where everything was in the fridge (mainly because I'm beginning to find it difficult to maintain my side of the Berlin Wall). And if anything was touching anything else, it was because something in the back shifted and went to "their side."

Now, the biggest issue I have with this whole fridge problem isn't the fact that I didn't ever agree to have "half the fridge", nor did I agree to "keep my things on my side" as this is just stuff that happened which I chose not to have issue with. The problem I'm having right now is that remember that mini-fridge she bought (which is the medium 4-foot tall 2.5-foot wide 2-foot deep one -- approximately)? THERE IS EFFING NOTHING IN THE DANG THING!!!

Honestly, if I was a reasonable person who had a fridge in my room while living in a place that also had a regular fridge, I would probably put snacks and drinks in it, stuff I ate/drank on a fairly regular basis that I wouldn't want to have to go out to the kitchen to get every time I wanted something. But seeming as that's not the case, I wonder to myself -- why exactly am I paying for the electricity that that thing is pulling out of the wall when it's not even being used as more than a place where she puts her books?? Why exactly am I having to squish all my leftovers around (because remember, she has none because she doesn't cook) in order for her to be able to refrigerate an ENTIRE CASE of bottled water?! I mean, these are reasonable questions aren't they? Please by all means stop me if I'm asking her to be unreasonable here.

And yet the fun doesn't stop there. No it doesn't. Notes on the Fridge began to creep into the modes of daily living. Dish cleaning, front-door locking, the correct way to put knives in the dishwasher.



Now, in case you can't read those, they say (top right-hand corner) "Please remember to lock the door every time you leave. Safety is important! Katie" and the other one (bottom left) says, "When placing sharp utensils (such as knives) in the dishwasher, always put the sharp edge down for safety and sanitary purposes. Thanks Katie."

Now, my issue with the first one is mainly that this would be the fifth or so time that one or the other of them has mentioned locking the door. This not being such a grand issue to me seeming as we've went an entire year without anything being stolen ever without ever locking the door EVER, and the fact that they lock the door when they leave even when one or both of us is sitting on the couch in the living room, and sometimes even when they are here. Now, first off, I don't need to be told that many times to lock the door, it's not in my habit to and I see no reason to when there are people here. Theft isn't a problem here in the apartment complex except during long school breaks like Winter or Spring Break when locals know the students have gone home. Not to mention that a cop lives within a stone's throw of this particular building so it's probably safer than even up the hill. Secondly, when I'm in the apartment, I'm not going to lock the door because we have friends that just come in to and fro. That's how it is. When I go over to Nick's, I just walk in, no knocking or anything, that's just how it is. I can understand locking the door when no one is home, and I make an effort, but honestly, the rest is just bull.

The thing that bothers me with the second one is just because it's almost too ridiculous for words. First, for her to write something like this, she just have hurt herself unloading the dishwasher or something. This being a first reason to scoff as anyone who is paying any attention at all would not go and impale themselves on any "sharp objects" in the washer. Second, I'm sick of this safety bull, it's like she's like the safety police or something and the tone in her notes feels as though she thinks she's talking to a five year old -- "Now don't touch the stove becuase it's hot! Safety is important!" Honestly, STFU. Lastly, I don't own steak knives (an investment I am finding to be needing as I made steak last night which OMG more on that later), and my cutting knives I don't put in the dishwasher because I don't want them to be ruined. Which leaves butter knives and forks as the only "sharp objects" in the dishwasher. And by God, if she can't handle a butter knife blade side up in the dishwasher, then she can stay out of the dishwasher in the first place. Honestly! I mean, tell me I'm being irrational here and I'll take a step back, but COME ON!

Then of course there's just minor things, like her voice that irritates me. The fact that she only watches ABC Family, Discovery Channel, and Disney (even if it's the lamest show made for like 12 year olds), because "the other channels have too much violence and vulgarity on", DIRECT QUOTE PEOPLE! The fact that she called the apartment office to complain about John and I smoking hookah in the house. The thing about hookah though is that first off, you can't really smell it unless it's being smoked, the smokes dissipates into the air leaving no residue or after-smell, and generally it smells like fruit anyway. It's made for smoking indoors, that's why they have hookah bars. Duh, and yet she obviously doesn't understand hookah or thinks it's the same as smoking cigarettes because she wants us to smoke it outside. One incident involving this, which was related to me by John, was one day John lit incense and put it on the hookah tray, and Paul walked in and asked if he could "maybe smoke that outside because it's kind of strong" (first of all sandalwood isn't a flavor that hookah comes in), and upon realizing that it was incense didn't seem to have that much of a problem. John put the incense out either way. Bottom line, hookah is like lighting a fruit smelling candle. Build a bridge.

And mainly, the wrap it up, she basically seems to have no concept of what it is to live with people. As I gleaned, her and her boyfriend, though previously living together have not had to have roommates, as they lived in a two bedroom. They moved because it was too expensive, and now what, they're trying to somehow reach some sort of perfect atmosphere, and it's impossible to do when you share space with four people. John and I have yet to complain about a single thing. Not even the fact that she goes to bed at 10:30 on Friday and Saturday nights and then expects us -- when we have friends over -- to be quiet. Not because she has anything to do over the weekend, like work, like I do, no, she can sleep in, just because she just does that. The whole concept of "deal with it" just hasn't entered her mind, but I'm telling you, it's going to be a long year if this shit keeps up. And she's not going to want to hear it from me the day something breaks the camel's back on this.

PS:: I made steak which was OMG fantastic, (medium, and John's was well done, even though it hurt my soul to overcook such a good piece of meat), if I do say so myself. And it was quick, and on Sunday's they have "manager's special" on meat to sell it fast, and it's just as good as long as you cook it same day, but like 1/3 off. I don't know why I don't grill more often. I made mashed potatoes from scratch (baby reds) which ended up turning out better than I expected, and overall, I feel like I've made leaps and bounds in my culinary skills. Yay for me!

Saturday, September 20, 2008

Shrimp Pasta

Shrimp Pasta

4 oz. linguine, uncooked
1 cup cleaned medium fresh shrimp
2 medium tomatoes, chopped (about 1 cup)
1/2 cup PHILADELPHIA Cream Cheese Spread
1-1/2 cups torn cleaned spinach
Make It

COOK linguine as directed on package.

MEANWHILE, heat large skillet on medium-high heat. Add shrimp, tomatoes and cream cheese spread; cook and stir 3 to 4 minutes or until shrimp are cooked through and mixture is well blended. Add salt and pepper to taste.

DRAIN pasta; place in large bowl. Add spinach; toss lightly. Stir in shrimp mixture.

Tuesday, September 9, 2008

recipe #5

Easy Mexican Cassarole

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 pound lean ground beef
  • 2 cups salsa
  • 1 (16 ounce) can chili beans, drained
  • 3 cups crushed tortilla chips
  • 2 cups sour cream
  • 1 (2 ounce) can sliced black olives, drained
  • 1/2 cup chopped green onion
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh tomato
  • 2 cups shredded Cheddar cheese

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  2. In a large skillet over medium-high heat, cook ground beef until no longer pink. Stir in salsa, reduce heat, and simmer 20 minutes, or until liquid is absorbed. Stir in beans, and heat through.
  3. Spray a 9x13 baking dish with cooking spray. Spread beef mixture on bottom. Spread sour cream over beef, and sprinkle olives, green onion, and tomato, corn, green pepper, over the sour cream. Top with Cheddar cheese.
  4. Bake in preheated oven for 30 minutes, or until hot and bubbly.