So, I guess I've been kind of busy lately, although it doesn't feel like I've been busy, but when a person gets home from work at 6:30, the time does seem to fly.
So, updates. Okay, well so, it all worked out with quitting Piercing Pagoda yesterday. (Yesterday being the actual day that I said "Hi, I'm quitting" instead of just talking about quitting like I've been doing for weeks on end.) I know you're all happy that this has finally stopped, as I'm sure it's been quite a hassle listening to the same crap day in and day out of me talking. I'm sure glad it's done with. So, yeah, but as far as working out is concerned, it turned out that I found out yesterday that UTS would be closed Friday, Saturday, and Sunday of the Fourth of July weekend. That's leaving me just sitting around with nothing to do... and you know me, instead of thanking the US for having such a great holiday in which I have time off, I decided to try and work those days too. Well, you know, if I'm going to be sitting around on my ass, probably just reading a book (a new one by James Patterson), then I might as well be getting paid. So, when I went in to quit I told her I'd work the Fourth of July weekend for her. As it turned out, she'd just done the schedule and she was cutting my hours again, so fooey on her. So, she gave me 13 hours over the Fourth of July weekend. Woot. As it also turns out, my spies in Children's Place informed me that good ol' Tera got into trouble for her hour allocations in that she is supposed to work Saturdays since she's the manager. Haha. Well anyway, I knew that's how that would go down. Anyway, also with working out, I just applied/ set up my schedule at UTS to qualify for Shift Premium. That means basically that I get a pay raise just by fulfilling certain criteria. Example: An X Factor of a 1.7 (what I type about on an average day) gets me approximately $8/hr. Working Shift Premium however, will make an X Factor of 1.7 be approximately $10/ hr. Woot! Money, money, MOONNEEYY. The only condition is that I work 28+ hours during the week Monday - Friday. This works out splendidly.
Rent : 305
Cell phone: 55
Utilities: 75
Gas: 70
Food: 150
(all inflated for worse case scenarios except for rent which is fixed)
Total: 655/ month
28 hours minimum @ $9.5/ hr (conservative) = 1064/ month
but what will probably end up happening is adding 10 hours on the weekend
38 hr @ $9.5/ hr = 1444/ month
Which is about a 400 - 790 a month discretionary income :)
Weird how working only one job is getting me more money. Frankly, with this type of schedule, it wouldn't even be worth it to work at Motherhood and Maternity with Spanada, even with the pay raise because I would be locked into a set amount of hours. With this job, sure I can make big bucks, but if need be, I can cut my hours to 16 a week, and have time to do crew or any other extra curricular activities that I might want to do.
Which brings me to my next point of life starting to work out well for me. Well, there's this girl in my acting class named Lauren (although her name is really irrelevant to the story), and she's an English major. Well, we go to talking today about jobs and stuff, and it turns out in the fall she's got an internship for a publishing company right here in Athens! It's an unpaid internship, and she said that the woman said they're always looking for people. She said that all she had to do was turn in a resume and a cover letter and she got an interview the next day! So, she's going to give me this lady's email address, and I'm going to follow up on that, and see what, if anything comes of it. So, it's a publishing company for mainly academic books because I think it's through UGA, but heck, at least I'd get to see how it all works and get my feet wet a little bit. I'll have to really revamp my resume though because I took it into the career center and they pretty much said it sucked. They wrote down how I needed to fix it and stuff and make it look pretty and professional, but still, I guess I'll just have to get the motivation to sit down and do that.
So, good stuff. Ah, finally.
Well, on a more personal note, so my step mother is pregnant. (This being aimed at my friends who read this and not my dad since obviously he already knows.) Anyway, so that's cool. I guess. I'm not really sure how I feel about it since it's going to be like a 21 year difference in age to the point where the kid could be my kid, and that's weird. Not to mention that when I finally have a kid that means their aunt/uncle is going to be like age difference of like 4 or 5 years. Again with the weird. I mean, my dad and his wife are young, and certainly a bunch of my friends' parents are up in their 60's now. Still, I wouldn't want to be trying to retire at age 55 and still having a teenager running around. That's sort of cutting it a little close for me. All I have to say is it better be a boy because frankly, I've never gotten over that only-child stigma even after my little brother was born, and thank goodness I only had to put up with "siblings" for 6 years before the divorce. But now, here I am going to have another girl competing for my dad's attention. I think not. Especially a blood-line girl, gonna be all blond and blue-eyed. Again with the I think not. And now inheritances is going to have to be split even further between heirs. (I only even care about his because I type financial crap all day, and so it's crossed my mind because I already know my financial status is going to be far outstripping my dad since I'm getting a huge leap on him in saving and investment planning.) Anyway, so yeah, but whatever I guess. I'll be rooting for a boy. Hardcore rooting for a boy. It's still weird. I always thought people with huge age ranges between their kids was weird. 8 year split, okay slightly normal, 12 year split (between my brother and this new kid) okay, getting weird. 21 year split, not normal. I guess it's weird to think that whey my parents are 80 I'm going to be retired and at 60. Still, I guess that's better for me, I'll have had more time with the 'rents by the time they die. 21 more years than the youngest, and 8 more than the middle. God, I'd hate to be a middle child. Corey should be glad I don't count as a child anymore since I'm out of house because otherwise he'd really be the middle child, instead of pseudo-oldest.
John wants to go to Walmart, but I haven't eaten yet, and I can't go grocery shopping while hungry, because that's just a bad idea. We need a toaster. I should just break down and buy a toaster. Good Will probably has toasters. 5 bucks. We have this stupid toaster oven, and I hate it. It doesn't toast things evenly or with speed. I mean, if we had a toaster I would probably eat a lot more breakfast beucase I could just pop a bagel and in blammo, food on the go. It's hard to eat cereal on the go. I usually make a PB & J sandwich for breakfast now because I can take it with me, but I'm getting kind of tired of PB & J, so bagel and cream cheese would be excellent except we have no toaster. I don't even know where we'd put a toaster because we have no counter space, and the counter space we DO have is current occupied by a microwave, a toaster oven, a rice cooker and a stupid coffee/tea maker. The last two owned by the lesbian who isn't even living here anymore, instead residing with her girlfriend probably because (and as I've recently discovered by John snooping around, thinks me and John are both "fucktards") probably because she thinks we eat her food, which I don't generally, (can't say the same for John) at least not that I would go and eat all of everything -- like her coffee ice cream -- and then not tell her or ask or whatever. I don't even like coffee much less coffee flavored ice cream. Retarded. Especially because we had people over and the dessert was ice cream, and she didn't think that maybe one of the guests got the communal ice cream mixed up with her special ice cream and just ate it by accident. Retarded. So, clearly, I don't take being called a "fucktard" behind my back graciously. And still no counter space with their stuff for a toaster. And keeping the toaster in a cabinet would be detrimental because A. then if I wanted something slow and complicated I could just use the stupid toaster oven, and B. there is no cabinet space either, and C. I would use a toaster on a fairly regular basis -- as apposed to them using their coffee/tea maker NEVER and their rice cooker on rare occasion.
Anyway, so that's life. I'm hungry, so I'm going to pop in a pizza. And you know what? If they (being the lesbians) have mozzarella cheese in the fridge, I'm going to use it because cheese goes bad and they don't even live here to complain. At least it won't go to waste. I can just say it molded (like it probably would).
Wednesday, June 25, 2008
Monday, June 16, 2008
day
Well, I guess it's been a while since I updated this thing. Unfortunately my life is pretty much the epitome of sameness right now.
I've decided to quit my job on the 22nd for certain. It works out. As for how much I've been complaining about it, it just makes sense to finally quit. I think I'm all burnt out on jewelry anyway. The place is going to hell in a handbag. They're not keeping up with the stuff that needs to be done. When the loss prevention auditor comes in July, they're going to fail. And I've done a good job, and will continue to do a good job all the way up to my last day. Then when Kathe, the regional manager, comes down and asks why the store went to hell, it can not at all be placed on me. Plus, I still need to get a necklace, and then I'll be all jewelried out.
Ironically, the day I decided to quit was the same day my old assistant manager at Children's Place pulled me aside and told me that if she got the manager position she applied for at Motherhood Maternity (a small store upstairs in the mall that sells maternity clothes) she needed a part time assistant manager and wanted me to have it. She says it pays 9.50 an hour, and she knows I can only work nights which is fine by her. I didn't tell her or anyone else previous to this (or at all yet) that I am quitting Piercing Pagoda. Who knows if/how that will pan out.
I'm excited about crew though. I can't wait for school to start so I can get back into that. My golf swing is getting better everyday. I hit with my drivers today and they were pretty good. My short game was on the money too until it started to get really hot and I started getting a heat headache (which I still have albeit it's probably just a normal headache now). So, I guess it was an overall good day, except around 2pm I was falling asleep at the computer at work. I should go to bed earlier today. Yesterday I fell asleep for two hours 7pm to 9pm and that's what messsed up my sleep schedule. I'll probably turn in early tonight. Like 11pm.
I've decided to quit my job on the 22nd for certain. It works out. As for how much I've been complaining about it, it just makes sense to finally quit. I think I'm all burnt out on jewelry anyway. The place is going to hell in a handbag. They're not keeping up with the stuff that needs to be done. When the loss prevention auditor comes in July, they're going to fail. And I've done a good job, and will continue to do a good job all the way up to my last day. Then when Kathe, the regional manager, comes down and asks why the store went to hell, it can not at all be placed on me. Plus, I still need to get a necklace, and then I'll be all jewelried out.
Ironically, the day I decided to quit was the same day my old assistant manager at Children's Place pulled me aside and told me that if she got the manager position she applied for at Motherhood Maternity (a small store upstairs in the mall that sells maternity clothes) she needed a part time assistant manager and wanted me to have it. She says it pays 9.50 an hour, and she knows I can only work nights which is fine by her. I didn't tell her or anyone else previous to this (or at all yet) that I am quitting Piercing Pagoda. Who knows if/how that will pan out.
I'm excited about crew though. I can't wait for school to start so I can get back into that. My golf swing is getting better everyday. I hit with my drivers today and they were pretty good. My short game was on the money too until it started to get really hot and I started getting a heat headache (which I still have albeit it's probably just a normal headache now). So, I guess it was an overall good day, except around 2pm I was falling asleep at the computer at work. I should go to bed earlier today. Yesterday I fell asleep for two hours 7pm to 9pm and that's what messsed up my sleep schedule. I'll probably turn in early tonight. Like 11pm.
Tuesday, June 10, 2008
haircut
So, today I improved my golf swing dramatically. I was actually hitting it straight (not hooking or slicing it) way out onto the green. My putting is pretty good anyway, we did that and I was able to hit is successfully into the hole with one hit from a maximum distance of like 5 or 6 feet. I got kind of sunburned today though since the class is at high noon. I went out and bought a golf glove so I would stop getting blisters and could work more on my swing and less on not getting a blister.
I also got my haircut today. Not going to cut any corners or make any narrative here. I basically look like a homosexual, guy or girl, take your pick. Hello transgendereds. I took the pictures with my camera and there was a picture (also on here for reference) of one taken just recently by my friend Franqui, and I look like two different people. I look okay with the hat on. The first thing that happened when I came home was that my roommate Nick was like "wow" and he took my hat off and said "wow, it's like we have two lesbians now!" and he promptly proceeded to call Roxanne the lesbian of the house. Then he comes back in with a camera to show Roxanne over the Internet. He sent me the pictures, but his weren't good and low quality so I took my own.
Thursday, June 5, 2008
sick
So, I definitly caught some bug and now feel like crap. Whole shebang too, sore throat, headache... well really just those two, but it's certainly not making life any easier. Pretty much my head feels like a rock. Didn't make a shift at UTS any easier. It's Thursday movie night, gonna be gay because it's kung fu movies and I'm really not that big into kung fu. Still, a friend of mine is supposed to be bringing potato salad and a gallon of milk for me. So, that'll be good if he comes through, I'm about to need milk and I've been craving potato salad for a while. I wish I felt good enough to go to the pool. I don't have any bathing suits though, and I'm going to have to either A. buy a new one or B. somehow get my mom to send them to me, I think I left shorts there too. Not sure if those shorts fit me anymore though. So, anyway, yeah, blah.
I had my first day of Thru-mester today. Econ is going to be a drag. The teacher is a Ph.D student doing her dissertation which means one of two things, either the class is going to be easy because she's busy and doesn't know how to teach, or it's going to be hard because she's busy and doesn't know how to teach. Yet to be determined. She's Indian, and all the experience I've had with teachers who are Indian is that they make everything seem easy and then the tests rape you.
Golf was .... well I don't know. We just talked in the classroom I guess, we went out to the range and practiced our grip. I took a practice swing. It felt awkward and ungainly. Could be because the club is too long for me. They only have two sets of women's clubs and there's like 6 or 7 girls in the class. That means I'm just going to have to get there early enough to get those clubs or learn to play with longer ones.
I think I'm really going to like my intro to acting class. The teacher is fun. It should be pretty simple. It's a small group so stage fright probably won't be an issue. I'm not really stage frighty anymore much anyway. Don't know when that changed.
I caught John snooping around on my computer one day. I took my computer to work to finish my screenplay (this was a Sunday) -- side note, the teacher liked my script. I'll start posting it up here in sections, no grades posted yet but I know I got an A -- Anyway, so I took it to work. Now, on that tab that has "most recent documents" I went to it to open my screenplay (which consisted of like 4 different documents) and low and behold I find the last two documents opened were not opened by me. One was Dave Dekkers.doc ( a religiological interview I did with him for a class back at the beginning of August 2007, nothing interesting really), and my diary document (which is passworded beyond being able to just click to open it). So, I mean, I can understand the temptation and all, you know, just wants to see what goes on in my head (probably not the best thing to know at all times). Still, I got on him about it. Lucky for him he's way too easy to embarrass about things like that. He bought me a gallon of milk in penance. That's fine with me, milk is expensive. I still keep bringing it up every now and again just for kicks and grins on my part though.
Anyway, so my headache is now ripping through my skull, so I'm going to make food and lie down. That's all for today.
I had my first day of Thru-mester today. Econ is going to be a drag. The teacher is a Ph.D student doing her dissertation which means one of two things, either the class is going to be easy because she's busy and doesn't know how to teach, or it's going to be hard because she's busy and doesn't know how to teach. Yet to be determined. She's Indian, and all the experience I've had with teachers who are Indian is that they make everything seem easy and then the tests rape you.
Golf was .... well I don't know. We just talked in the classroom I guess, we went out to the range and practiced our grip. I took a practice swing. It felt awkward and ungainly. Could be because the club is too long for me. They only have two sets of women's clubs and there's like 6 or 7 girls in the class. That means I'm just going to have to get there early enough to get those clubs or learn to play with longer ones.
I think I'm really going to like my intro to acting class. The teacher is fun. It should be pretty simple. It's a small group so stage fright probably won't be an issue. I'm not really stage frighty anymore much anyway. Don't know when that changed.
I caught John snooping around on my computer one day. I took my computer to work to finish my screenplay (this was a Sunday) -- side note, the teacher liked my script. I'll start posting it up here in sections, no grades posted yet but I know I got an A -- Anyway, so I took it to work. Now, on that tab that has "most recent documents" I went to it to open my screenplay (which consisted of like 4 different documents) and low and behold I find the last two documents opened were not opened by me. One was Dave Dekkers.doc ( a religiological interview I did with him for a class back at the beginning of August 2007, nothing interesting really), and my diary document (which is passworded beyond being able to just click to open it). So, I mean, I can understand the temptation and all, you know, just wants to see what goes on in my head (probably not the best thing to know at all times). Still, I got on him about it. Lucky for him he's way too easy to embarrass about things like that. He bought me a gallon of milk in penance. That's fine with me, milk is expensive. I still keep bringing it up every now and again just for kicks and grins on my part though.
Anyway, so my headache is now ripping through my skull, so I'm going to make food and lie down. That's all for today.
Tuesday, June 3, 2008
Popeye
So today, I don't know what happened. Everything was going okay. It's the last day of my class. I ended up oversleeping, but it's okay, I'm allowed one missed day. So, I have to turn in my final assignment. It's done now, I just have to reformat into real 'script' look. That will be nice. It's tedious but I need something tedious to do right now. I don't know what happened tonight. I went to work and that was fine. The usual. I noticed I sneeze within five minutes of getting to work at UTS. Every single time without fail. Always sneeze. So, then Franqui wanted me to take him to the Charter store to return his modem. He told me he'd get me dinner for it. Woot, free dinner. -- Correction, his card was denied, so I ended up paying for dinner. So, I took him and we went to Stevie B's. Please note that Eric Franqui is only tolerable for small amounts of time. So, this outing takes a good two hours. When we get back, we decide to go to a movie because when we passed the movie theaters I said, "ooh Strangers, I wanted to see that." So, he knows a guy who works at the movie theater who lets us in free. Okay free movie. Good stuff. So, John decides to come to. I drive. It's okay on the way up there. Both Eric and John have the same music taste and we listened to his CDs on the way to the theater. We see Strangers. Honestly, I mean, I thought it was scary. I thought it built up suspense and yet it didn't show all the bloody gory torture. That's the way scary movies are supposed to be. Anyway, so they start knocking my film choice when it was over. I'm a little irritated by it, I mean, it was free, and it was something to do on a night when we'd normally be doing nothing, and it's not like there was something way better that was playing, or that there was even any dissent on seeing my choice of movie versus something else. No, we just went to see it, no questions asked. No one even asked what it was about. We just got in the car and went to see it and suddenly they're like it was such a complete waste of two hours of their lives. Like they would have been doing something more riveting? Well, so we get in the car and I decide to listen to the radio. I've had about enough of their type of music, I can only take so much. So, I turn on the radio, I don't even remember what comes on, something they didn't like. Dissing on my music taste begins. I change the station, something by some woman, some new song, don't know what it's called. I like that song, I know all the words, so I turn it up a bit. Not even blasting, just a little bit. Franqui in the back seat starts dancing erratically and clapping his hands and acting like a idiot, sarcasm dripping from his mouth as he says how great the song I picked was. I ignored it. At this point, I think I just stop responding. Finally, I change the music again, an 80's song. Nothing I picked was anything that Franqui couldn't help but put a snide remark into. As we drove on, I start getting more and more wound up. I start gripping the steering wheel tighter. I think about flooring it on a long stretch of road. I just want him to shut up. By the time we're nearing home, I'm deadlocked on the car in front of me, it's headlights were red, making me see red. I have a huge urge to drive aggressively, but the logical side of me is like "no that'd waste gas". So, I'm calm outwardly but inwardly I'm just seething. All I want to do is throw Franqui out of the car. It just all hit me out of nowhere and suddenly I was so angry I couldn't even stand it. I didn't think I was going to be able to make it home without doing something irrational. So, finally we get home, I pull into the parking space, and get out of the car. Resist slamming my car door. I walk faster than normal up the stairs and slam the door shut behind me. I walk to the living room intent on grabbing my laptop out of there and holing up in my room. Doesn't happen. John starts up, I get out of the living room fast because I know if he comes over and tries to talk to me I'm going to blow up at him for no good reason. Just because he'd be in the line of fire at the wrong time. So, I go in my room and I sit on the bed and I'm just sitting there breathing heavy, feeling like I just ran a marathon, I want to throw something. I don't even know why. I don't know why I just flew off the handle about it, but it's beyond control. I suddenly decide that I have to get out of the apartment NOW. So, I stand up, at this point I'm reaching some sort of weird panic state, about to cry for no good reason, just in rage I guess. I nearly run out of the door of the apartment and across the street, and then I just like start bursting out in tears. No good reason at all. Just did. And I just walked and walked and walked, and I felt like I wouldn't stop walking. It's all brightly lit and everything everywhere, I walked in circles at the next apartment over. I walked for about 40 minutes I guess. I didn't have any sense of time. I got back. I don't even think John noticed that I stormed out of the house and didn't come back for half an hour. He hasn't come in my room yet, and I've been back for about 15 minutes or so, however long it took to write this post. Now, I'm just exhausted. I don't even know what even happened with all that or why. Maybe it's like Popeye, "I've had all I can stands, and I can't stands no more!" Weird.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)