So, I guess I've been kind of busy lately, although it doesn't feel like I've been busy, but when a person gets home from work at 6:30, the time does seem to fly.
So, updates. Okay, well so, it all worked out with quitting Piercing Pagoda yesterday. (Yesterday being the actual day that I said "Hi, I'm quitting" instead of just talking about quitting like I've been doing for weeks on end.) I know you're all happy that this has finally stopped, as I'm sure it's been quite a hassle listening to the same crap day in and day out of me talking. I'm sure glad it's done with. So, yeah, but as far as working out is concerned, it turned out that I found out yesterday that UTS would be closed Friday, Saturday, and Sunday of the Fourth of July weekend. That's leaving me just sitting around with nothing to do... and you know me, instead of thanking the US for having such a great holiday in which I have time off, I decided to try and work those days too. Well, you know, if I'm going to be sitting around on my ass, probably just reading a book (a new one by James Patterson), then I might as well be getting paid. So, when I went in to quit I told her I'd work the Fourth of July weekend for her. As it turned out, she'd just done the schedule and she was cutting my hours again, so fooey on her. So, she gave me 13 hours over the Fourth of July weekend. Woot. As it also turns out, my spies in Children's Place informed me that good ol' Tera got into trouble for her hour allocations in that she is supposed to work Saturdays since she's the manager. Haha. Well anyway, I knew that's how that would go down. Anyway, also with working out, I just applied/ set up my schedule at UTS to qualify for Shift Premium. That means basically that I get a pay raise just by fulfilling certain criteria. Example: An X Factor of a 1.7 (what I type about on an average day) gets me approximately $8/hr. Working Shift Premium however, will make an X Factor of 1.7 be approximately $10/ hr. Woot! Money, money, MOONNEEYY. The only condition is that I work 28+ hours during the week Monday - Friday. This works out splendidly.
Rent : 305
Cell phone: 55
Utilities: 75
Gas: 70
Food: 150
(all inflated for worse case scenarios except for rent which is fixed)
Total: 655/ month
28 hours minimum @ $9.5/ hr (conservative) = 1064/ month
but what will probably end up happening is adding 10 hours on the weekend
38 hr @ $9.5/ hr = 1444/ month
Which is about a 400 - 790 a month discretionary income :)
Weird how working only one job is getting me more money. Frankly, with this type of schedule, it wouldn't even be worth it to work at Motherhood and Maternity with Spanada, even with the pay raise because I would be locked into a set amount of hours. With this job, sure I can make big bucks, but if need be, I can cut my hours to 16 a week, and have time to do crew or any other extra curricular activities that I might want to do.
Which brings me to my next point of life starting to work out well for me. Well, there's this girl in my acting class named Lauren (although her name is really irrelevant to the story), and she's an English major. Well, we go to talking today about jobs and stuff, and it turns out in the fall she's got an internship for a publishing company right here in Athens! It's an unpaid internship, and she said that the woman said they're always looking for people. She said that all she had to do was turn in a resume and a cover letter and she got an interview the next day! So, she's going to give me this lady's email address, and I'm going to follow up on that, and see what, if anything comes of it. So, it's a publishing company for mainly academic books because I think it's through UGA, but heck, at least I'd get to see how it all works and get my feet wet a little bit. I'll have to really revamp my resume though because I took it into the career center and they pretty much said it sucked. They wrote down how I needed to fix it and stuff and make it look pretty and professional, but still, I guess I'll just have to get the motivation to sit down and do that.
So, good stuff. Ah, finally.
Well, on a more personal note, so my step mother is pregnant. (This being aimed at my friends who read this and not my dad since obviously he already knows.) Anyway, so that's cool. I guess. I'm not really sure how I feel about it since it's going to be like a 21 year difference in age to the point where the kid could be my kid, and that's weird. Not to mention that when I finally have a kid that means their aunt/uncle is going to be like age difference of like 4 or 5 years. Again with the weird. I mean, my dad and his wife are young, and certainly a bunch of my friends' parents are up in their 60's now. Still, I wouldn't want to be trying to retire at age 55 and still having a teenager running around. That's sort of cutting it a little close for me. All I have to say is it better be a boy because frankly, I've never gotten over that only-child stigma even after my little brother was born, and thank goodness I only had to put up with "siblings" for 6 years before the divorce. But now, here I am going to have another girl competing for my dad's attention. I think not. Especially a blood-line girl, gonna be all blond and blue-eyed. Again with the I think not. And now inheritances is going to have to be split even further between heirs. (I only even care about his because I type financial crap all day, and so it's crossed my mind because I already know my financial status is going to be far outstripping my dad since I'm getting a huge leap on him in saving and investment planning.) Anyway, so yeah, but whatever I guess. I'll be rooting for a boy. Hardcore rooting for a boy. It's still weird. I always thought people with huge age ranges between their kids was weird. 8 year split, okay slightly normal, 12 year split (between my brother and this new kid) okay, getting weird. 21 year split, not normal. I guess it's weird to think that whey my parents are 80 I'm going to be retired and at 60. Still, I guess that's better for me, I'll have had more time with the 'rents by the time they die. 21 more years than the youngest, and 8 more than the middle. God, I'd hate to be a middle child. Corey should be glad I don't count as a child anymore since I'm out of house because otherwise he'd really be the middle child, instead of pseudo-oldest.
John wants to go to Walmart, but I haven't eaten yet, and I can't go grocery shopping while hungry, because that's just a bad idea. We need a toaster. I should just break down and buy a toaster. Good Will probably has toasters. 5 bucks. We have this stupid toaster oven, and I hate it. It doesn't toast things evenly or with speed. I mean, if we had a toaster I would probably eat a lot more breakfast beucase I could just pop a bagel and in blammo, food on the go. It's hard to eat cereal on the go. I usually make a PB & J sandwich for breakfast now because I can take it with me, but I'm getting kind of tired of PB & J, so bagel and cream cheese would be excellent except we have no toaster. I don't even know where we'd put a toaster because we have no counter space, and the counter space we DO have is current occupied by a microwave, a toaster oven, a rice cooker and a stupid coffee/tea maker. The last two owned by the lesbian who isn't even living here anymore, instead residing with her girlfriend probably because (and as I've recently discovered by John snooping around, thinks me and John are both "fucktards") probably because she thinks we eat her food, which I don't generally, (can't say the same for John) at least not that I would go and eat all of everything -- like her coffee ice cream -- and then not tell her or ask or whatever. I don't even like coffee much less coffee flavored ice cream. Retarded. Especially because we had people over and the dessert was ice cream, and she didn't think that maybe one of the guests got the communal ice cream mixed up with her special ice cream and just ate it by accident. Retarded. So, clearly, I don't take being called a "fucktard" behind my back graciously. And still no counter space with their stuff for a toaster. And keeping the toaster in a cabinet would be detrimental because A. then if I wanted something slow and complicated I could just use the stupid toaster oven, and B. there is no cabinet space either, and C. I would use a toaster on a fairly regular basis -- as apposed to them using their coffee/tea maker NEVER and their rice cooker on rare occasion.
Anyway, so that's life. I'm hungry, so I'm going to pop in a pizza. And you know what? If they (being the lesbians) have mozzarella cheese in the fridge, I'm going to use it because cheese goes bad and they don't even live here to complain. At least it won't go to waste. I can just say it molded (like it probably would).
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment