Sunday, May 17, 2009

Spinach and Sun-Dried Tomato Pasta

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 12 sun-dried tomatoes
  • 1 (8 ounce) package uncooked penne pasta
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 bunch fresh spinach, rinsed and torn into bite-size pieces
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese

DIRECTIONS

  1. Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Place penne pasta in the pot, cook 9 to 12 minutes, until al dente, and drain.
  2. Heat the olive oil and red pepper flakes in a skillet over medium heat, and saute the garlic 1 minute, until tender. Mix in the spinach, and cook until almost wilted. Pour in the reserved broth, and stir in the chopped sun-dried tomatoes. Continue cooking 2 minutes, or until heated through.
  3. In a large bowl, toss the cooked pasta with the spinach and tomato mixture. Serve with Parmesan cheese.
I added chicken also. I heard sausage was good, but I don't like sausage. I also added basil and garlic while cooking the chicken. To make it more "saucy" I nixed the broth in place for melted cream cheese.

Tuesday, February 10, 2009

close cals

So I figure I must be destined to die in a car accident or something. The last three the last five days I've almost died in a car accident. Neither of which would have been my fault, both of which I narrowly escaped tragedy.

The first time, I was coming back from dinner with friends on Friday and I was coming on to the ramp that is the exit to where I live. And this semi goes past the exit and then it's as if the semi driver realizes he missed the exit and he starts going over those double lines into the exit turn off. So I had slowed down to get on the exit, and the semi had kept his speed while he sped past the exit, so when he started coming into my lane he was going slightly faster than me and was veering in front of me and clearly didn't see me. So there I was finding myself about to be going under a semi and flattened by back wheels so I had to go off into the shoulder to get out of the way.

Then today, I was driving to school, and it's a one lane road that's two lanes wide so that cars can go around buses when they are at the bus stops. So I stop behind this bus because it didn't really give me enough space to get by when it stopped, and I squeezed past and I had three people behind me and we're coming up this hill and there's this spot for U-turns in the median. So this car comes whipping around this corner, doesn't even stop even though three cars are like right there. It was all slow-motion for me cuz I saw this car, and I felt me swerving out of the way (he was towards the back end of my car, like if we had hit he would have hit the driver side back door). And I saw the look on this one kid's face that was standing at the bus stop (the next one that the bus that we had passed hadn't got to yet). And when I looked back, the car that almost hit me had almost hit the person who was directly behind me, and they had all come to a complete stop. Seriously. I was like... phew.

So far I have a 92 on the Communication Law test I took. That is before the essay grade, but I know I did the essay well. So looks like I made an A on the test :)

Thursday, February 5, 2009

long awaited update

So, I know it's been a while since I've posted. Needless to say I've been very busy. Like wooo super busy. Today however, was the day the busy ended. I actually didn't know what it felt like to have nothing to do. Not exactly nothing per se, I could stand to do some laundry but it's definitely not an imminent concern.

As it was, I blew my law test out of the water. Unlike other tests that I've "felt" ready for, before, this time it was different. This time I was "that person" who everyone asks questions from right before the test. I was "that person" that you're jealous of because you know they know what they're talking about and are going to do well on the test. I was "that person" that thought the test was a breeze while everyone else talked about it like it was the worst thing to have happened to them. I nailed that sucker, and damn right that I should. I had been studying from day one -- well maybe day four -- but certainly the most studying that I heard people had been doing was three maybe four days tops before the exam. I was "that person" that just ruined the curve for everyone else. It was true/false, multiple choice, and one essay -- and people were like "it was tricky". I felt it wasn't tricky at all if you knew everything from the inside and out. We'll we'll see I guess.

My guineas are doing good. I "taught" them a new trick -- well really they just recognize me now I think. When I start yelling "who's my guineas!?" Big comes to the side of the cage that my voice is on and puts his nose up in the air. Big is also really good about knowing when I open the front small door of the cage, treats come out, so he comes over every time and gets right up and starts trying to stick his big ol' head out of the cage. Usually Boo is too scared to come to the door and get the food from me even though he knows it's there -- heck he can see it, unlike Big. So he usually just tries to steal it from Big, but Big is... big... so it usually doesn't work unless Boo gets it far enough away that Big can't see him. Today though, it was the funniest thing ever. Big as usual came to get the treat and pulled it from my hand and carried it to the back of the cage. Then he ran into Boo. I thought he just didn't see Boo at first, but then he kept nudging Boo out of the way and making him walk around the edge of the cage till Boo was forced around to the front where the door is where I give treats. And Boo got his treat. It was like Big was saying, hey man, this is how it's done, now stop stealing my food. It was so funny. I'll have to post some pictures sometime. It's cute. Boo is still skiddish. Who knew the name Boo would have fit him so well. He's getting used to me, but he's still more traumatized cuz he's the unlucky one to be a silky haired guinea -- which means he doesn't shed much -- and that means that John likes him best cuz John has this weird thing about pet hair, any pet hair at all, even like two strands, being on him or his clothes. So he won't pick up Big or play with him cuz he's like a huge shedding furball of orange hair. He'll just pick up Boo -- and hold him out in front of him at almost arms length and just hold him out there, poor Boo. Again with posting pictures.

I have two new recipes to post. One cassarole, it's a good one. I don't remember the other recipe kind off the top of my head but it's alright too.

Tomorrow night me and my friends are going out to have a celebratory dinner. Hugo passed his grad school paper things he had to write. Tyler got promoted and got into grad school. I kicked ass on my communication law test. I'm sure Katie did something, it was exam week so she might have had one, but I'm sure she can just celebrate being alive. We're eating at high dining, Johnny Carino's!! Yums.

Getting Air Force stuff on the roll slowly but surely. Of course I emailed this guy at the UGA AFROTC to ask about the AFOQT (us Air Force and our acronyms...) and this guy who will remain nameless totally didn't read my email. I asked him when they offered the test and who I needed to get in contact with. Told him I wanted to be able to have time to study and that I wasn't in that much of a hurry as I don't graduate until December. Signed my name with my contact information. --- He replied Mr. Owen. He also only told me of only one test they were offering, Feb 14 (ie, not any time to study, like a week), and told me to contact this other guy, who he didn't give me the information for. Really. I know they offer it on a quarterly basis. I was so mad about the Mr. Owen thing though that I didn't reply till today. I more thoroughly reexplained what I was looking for, thanked him for his continuing help in the matter, and signed my name Miss Nicole Owen. Looks like I'm going to have some butts to whip in shape when I get in -- honestly... what is up with the incompetence lately?

The roommates no longer want any "mediation" as there have been "no further incidents".

I think that is really all of import. Everything else is good. I'm getting better at Guitar Hero day by day. :)

Woot. Long day, so I'm off to bed.

Friday, December 19, 2008

recipe #13

So, I have to go through and edit my recipes so I can find them again.

But either way, I need to add this one since it seems like such a hit.

Double Layer Pumpkin Cheesecake

INGREDIENTS
2 (8 ounce) packages cream cheese, softened
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 eggs
1 (9 inch) prepared graham cracker crust
premade pumkin pie mix
cinnamon


DIRECTIONS

Preheat oven to 350degrees F In a large bowl, combine cream cheese, sugar and vanilla. Beat until smooth. Blend in eggs one at a time. Remove 1 cup of batter and spread into bottom of crust; set aside.

Add pumpkin and last egg to remaining batter and stir gently until well blended. Add extra cinnamon or nutmeg for flavor. Carefully spread over the batter in the crust.

Bake in preheated oven for an hour in a water bath, or until center is almost set. Allow to cool, then refrigerate for 3 hours or overnight. Cover with whipped topping before serving.

Monday, December 1, 2008

recipe #11

Spinach and Feta Pasta

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 (8 ounce) package penne pasta
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 3 cups chopped tomatoes
  • 1 cup sliced fresh mushrooms
  • 2 cups spinach leaves, packed
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 pinch red pepper flakes
  • 8 ounces feta cheese, crumbled

DIRECTIONS

  1. Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Cook pasta in boiling water until al dente; drain.
  2. Meanwhile, heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat, saute strips of chicken until near done; add onion and garlic, and cook until golden brown. Mix in tomatoes, mushrooms, and spinach. Season with salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes. Cook 2 minutes more, until tomatoes are heated through and spinach is wilted. Reduce heat to medium, stir in pasta and feta cheese, and cook until heated through.

Monday, November 10, 2008

another one

So, I applied for another internship. I just did it on a whim because it was just email and I didn't have anything better to do tonight. Don't care if I get it or not. I didn't try and make it professional sounding, I just told them like it is.

Editorial Internship
Responsibilities include reviewing, reading and evaluating unsolicited manuscripts; assisting with copy editing, manuscript editing and proofing; reading, reviewing and critiquing manuscripts in process; compiling detailed editorial questions and/or research questions for manuscripts in process; assisting with research projects related to manuscript development such as fact-checking, reference checking, title research, competition book research, etc.; preparing for and attending acquisition meetings; assisting with special editorial needs or projects; assisting with other department projects, especially publicity and marketing. The internship is unpaid and candidates must commit to 10 hours per week for a term of 10-12 weeks.

Job Qualifications:
Applicants must be a junior or senior level college student majoring in English, Creative Writing or a related field. You must be interested in pursuing a career in publishing or a related industry. Interns must be detail-oriented, able to handle multiple projects at once, have a strong background in literature, and possess good writing skills. Send resume, cover letter, and a 1-2 page writing sample (on any subject or from class assignment) via email to: chood@peachtree-online.com

So, that's how it is.

Here's my cover letter. It's probably retarded, but at least it will stand out. It's definitely me to a T


Peachtree Publishers

November 10, 2008

chood@peachtree-online.com


To whom it may concern:

I'm writing to you because you publish books.

I can understand how that statement seems like the most obvious thing in the world, but frankly, I've found that the number of actual book publishing companies that offer internships in Atlanta is surprisingly small. Or maybe your advertising is better, since your company has shown up on the Career Center's weekly e-mail. But regardless, I'm writing because I'm not interested, like the majority of my peers, in having anything to do with publishing a newspaper or magazine. I'm a publication management major because I want to publish real books, with spines and bindings, and pages that aren't chalk full of advertisements, that actually mean something. I'm a comparative literature minor because I have an appreciation for good writing. Real writing; none of that inverted-pyramid style stuff they keep teaching me in my journalism classes. And yes, even children's books have more plot than a three-inch column story with a clever headline and a mugshot. I'm writing to you because I know that the education I'm getting right now is sorely lacking in the tools I'm going to need to succeed out in the real publishing world. Unless perhaps I want to go publish a literary magazine, which might be as close to doing what I want to do as I could get.

After reading the brief description about the internship, if it's all it claims to be, then your program is more comprehensive than the other (few) publishing internships that are out there, which is exactly what I'm looking for: an espresso shot of the publishing industry. Also, I honestly think that an internship at a children's book publisher would be more mentally stimulating than one at an academic book publisher any day. Not that I have a problem with mundane, my current transcriptionist job is the epitome of mundane, but editing indexes for 12 weeks isn't the experience I'm looking for. I'm looking for a hands-on, educational-but-fun, well-rounded program which you seem to provide.

I'd like to be able to tell you that I have so much outside experience that it wouldn't even fit on my resume, but the truth is that I'm a workaholic. I work between 31 to 37 hours a week, in addition to going to school. So, when I do get a spare moment of time, I'm not out joining the local magazine club or yearbook staff; I'm sitting on the couch curled up with thriller, a bookmark, and a glass of milk. What I can tell you is that being a workaholic provides for the immediate need to be detail oriented and super organized with a penchant for time management. I'm going to be there, on time, and work from the time I get there to the time I leave. And since I love to work, I'm always going to have a good attitude about it, even if I have to get up at 6am to drive to Atlanta from Athens. I don't even drink caffeinated beverages, so that's really saying something.

With that being said, attached is my resume, which further details my skills and qualifications.

I look forward to hearing from you, and will follow up in two weeks to answer any questions that you may have.

Thank you for your time and consideration.



And the piece of writing I submitted was an excerpt (second draft) of a short story I worked on in my creative writing class.

The following is an excerpt of a short-story that I was working on in a creative writing workshop I took. This is second draft; not nearly as close to completion as I'd like as entire work is about 12 single spaced pages depending on font.



Title


The wave of sound rushes through the air in an ever-widening arc, knocking free the dust and mold spores that so far long had been stagnant in the air. It crashes into the crumbling walls, causing paint chips to fall to the ground and dry-rotted doors to tremble and sag lower into their frames. The disturbed air settles back into its oppressive stale thickness, coating the fine membranes of her lungs with a layer of death and decay with every breath. She coughs, but the thin sound is eaten by the air and does not seem to travel past her lips. The grandfather clock chimes again, throwing its sound against her and into her; the sound wave sliding through her body and pulling at her soul and warmth as if to drag it along. The air mists where her shallow breaths meets with cold in front of her face. She hugs herself and digs her nails into the fleshy part of her forearm until the knuckles were white and little capillaries have already burst under the pressure, leaving red squiggly lines under her nails when she loosens her grip. A pallid moon-glow sneaks past the grease and grime on the windows, sheepishly spilling thin light onto a thread-bare carpet. A large rat boldly crosses from one side of the room to the other. Its fat body sways heavily side to side, eyes glowing into the darkness, and its tail, like an overgrown worm, drags behind it. She stands motionless in the center of the room as her head revolves slowly and her eyes, trying to separate the black from the gray, scan the room. There is nothing. She is alone.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

Jennifer slammed the door of her 1997 Chrysler and hurried up the steps to her building as she fished in her purse for the keys. The rain was coming down in torrents, mirroring her mood, and her faded blue blouse was soaked and clinging. Stumbling awkwardly into her cramped apartment, she flung herself on the couch and flipped on the TV. As she lay there for a second just staring up at the unknown stain on the ceiling, the phone rang, piercing her calm.

“Hello? Jennifer Blackwater speaking.”

“Hey, Jen, it's Ryan. I know it's late and that you've had a long night at the bar, but I was wondering if we could get together tonight. I need to see you.”

Jennifer lowered the phone from her ear, and glanced slowly around her apartment. She heard the tink of the leaky faucet on the kitchen sink hitting a dirty cup. She held the phone loosely in her hand as if to drop it carelessly. This was the last person she wanted to be with that night.

“I'm sorry Ryan, but I'm really too beat to be good company. I think I'm just going to hit the sack.”

“Jennifer, please, it will only take a minute, but it's importa-”

“Please, Ryan, tonight's just no good for me. Okay?”

A pained sigh issued from the other end. “Fine. I'll talk to you later.”

Hanging up the phone, she shuffled to her room to get out of her wet clothes. She actually wasn't tired at all, being it was Wednesday night, the bar had only a couple of usuals and a few guys who had just had “women troubles.” After her father died Jennifer couldn't find the heart to sell that old place and bartending wasn't really a hard job. At any rate, it pulled in enough money to keep her above water, and sports nights were usually packed enough that she'd make two weeks worth of pay in one shot. Some of the locals had known her since she was just a scrawny 12-year old kid. Where would they go for their nightly headache if she sold it off to some hot-shot college rich kid, who would just turn it into another rave bar or eclectic coffee shop.

Ryan was a guy she had met during a particularly slow night; he had just been looking for a friend of his when he’d spotted Jennifer, and for some reason, they hit it off right away. Just like one of those cheesy love films that she hated so much. Honestly, the real world wasn't supposed to work like that, but then in tripped Ryan. He was comical and sensitive, not to mention that he had that rugged look that reminded her of her father in his better years. That's how they all started out anyway; the movies, not real life. But, sometime a handful of weeks ago, they had had a falling out as she realized that she couldn't live forever in that little apartment, and that she hadn't really seen much of the world at all. Of course maybe this came because of the string of French movies that Lifetime decided to play the night before and had her dreaming of crepes all week since. Where could you get a good authentic crepe but in France anyway?

I'm sure you're sick of reading all this by now, but comments would be appreciated.

The Air Force career day thingy is tomorrow, so I'll probably update about that as well.


PS. Dad, I only smoke hookah like once every two weeks. Jeez, there are worse things I could be doing, ya know. I don't even drink. That's a lie, I had a glass of sangria a few nights ago, but that was one glass (wine glass) that took me an entire night to finish.

Monday, November 3, 2008

recipe #10

Chicken Pot Pie

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 (9 inch) deep dish frozen pie crusts, thawed
  • 1 (15 ounce) mixed vegetables, slightly cooked if frozen
  • 2 cups cooked, diced chicken breast
  • 1 (10.75 ounce) can condensed cream of chicken soup
  • 1/2 cup milk

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  2. Cook pie crust for 10-15 minutes.
  3. In a bowl combine the mixed vegetables, chicken, cream of chicken soup and milk and spices to taste. Pour mixture into one of the pie crusts. Turn the other crust over and pop out of the tin onto the top of the filled pie. Seal the edges and poke holes in top crust.
  4. Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 30 minutes or until crust is golden brown.