So after the brakes went out on the car, I took it to this place out in the middle of nowhere called Hopewell Tire & Automotive. Luckily for me, the day previous, I had called about every car repair place looking for estimates on just basic brake replacement (pads/shoes/labor). So, when I called them, they were almost immediately first on the list by how friendly he was on the phone and helpful. So, when it broke down, I took it there. They did a full inspection for free on my car, and then even made the rattling noise stop, free of charge! That was what I was what made me like them immediately. All the other times I've taken it to places, they knew it made the rattling and yet no one did anything. Yet, apparently something was just loose and needed some bolts, and he just did it for me. So, now my car is quite, at last, no rattling chain noise, it's almost as if I have a brand new vehicle with just that change. Heck, I don't even remember when it was the last time I had the car not make those noises. Anyway, so after calling around getting estimates, the price they charged to do the work with parts included after taxes and fees was only $260! Getting just the brakes changed on their own, not including the other part that broke on the brakes (the hydraulic part) was going to be around $150 at some other place anyway. Not only that, but like I said, they did a full inspection on the car, found out that my belts don't have to be replaced (as the one guy had told me at Precision Auto), and after figuring out all that's wrong with the car, didn't try and make me feel like I had to get it all fixed. They were like "here's the brakes that need to be fixed" the rest we can just work through one thing at a time when you can, just to get your car in better shape. Plus, the facility was nice, offered complementary coffee and sodas and had full service cable TV (not just playing soap operas with the TV mounted high so no one can change the channel). They even had a fish tank with a huge fish in it. The guy, Andy is super nice and makes sure that he explains everything to you so that you know what's going on. The phone was almost ringing off the hook, but he didn't even flinch while he was explaining to me (with diagrams) about what happened with my brakes and what needed to be fixed. So, they got the repair done when they said they would, and when I went to pick it up, I got into my car, and they had cleaned it! The front seat had had some Styrofoam cups from work all around and some crumpled up papers from when the oil change people put those "feet protector" papers on the floor, and when I got in, it was all gone. Overall, it was the best service I've gotten at a car place and I'll definitely be going back there if I ever need anything else done.
I had my interview today. Overall, I think it went pretty well. I feel like I answered everything satisfactorily. I feel like I asked constructive questions. I was pretty nervous, but I think I managed to mask it during the meeting. We'll just have to wait and see how it goes I guess. It seemed promising, but the guy didn't really give anything away. He said he would be contacting me within a week. His last interview days are October 7th, so I figure sometime after that is when I'll be getting a yay or nay phone call. We'll see how that goes. In any case, I looked pretty good. The interview also consisted of an editing test, which I thought was challenging but doable. We'll see how that goes too, there's no way to tell. I wasn't frazzled though, so I guess that's good.
Equifax was offering free credit scores for the first 10,000 people to go get it. So, I did that. I probably have the best credit score out of my peer group. Top tier baby! 763! I have the screen shot somewhere.

So that's how that turned out. Well, anyway, I'm rewarding my hard work and efforts by watching Heroes tonight and going to bed early. Tomorrow is another day of crackdown on homework/school/work, so let me enjoy the free time when I have it.