Saturday, April 26, 2008

Work Issues

So, I feel like I'm starting to be like a disgruntled employee. Today, I came to work in a good mood, and then slowly but surely it just went downhill from there. It started with the fact that my regional was supposed to have stopped by th store yesterday. I had asked Nessa to get her email address for me so I could email my regional about that promotion. When I arrived at work however, Nessa barely said two words to me and then left. She also left me The List. This is the list of things that I'm supposed to do during my shift. Now, I don't mind that she leaves lists for me. I like lists. They're regimented and structureed and clear. What I don't like is little "inserts" like - (verbatim) DO NOT BS and sign off the list please (underlined twice). Like I don't do my job. Like she has to worry about me BSing the list and just signing off that I completed it when I didn't really. Like she has to leave little inserts like that. That's not the first time she's left them either. Last Thursday she left a list covering both sides of the paper for Tonya and I to complete. Her little 'insert' said - You have PLENTY of time to do this. DO NOT leave the kiosk and go wandering around. If I find out that you've been slacking off you will get a write up! I am pretty sure she ended her 'insert' with something like "have a good day," or something. I mean, that's a blatant threat. And granted she may have left that for Tonya's notice and not mine. (Tonya who ended up doing jack diddly on the list by the way). I feel like if she has a problem with Tonya than she should direct it at her and not make it a "general" note to everybody.

It just feels like she doesn't recognize what I do. She's cut my hours and she's giving them to her little friend that she just hired, even though a fourth key is only supposed to get 8 hours, she's giving her 17 (ie. more than me). I looked at sales today for the month. I am bringing in roughly 40% of the sales into that store and only working about 20% of the hours. Yet, I get no recognition. If I don't tell her that I do something, she doesn't notice. Case in point - on today's 'to-do list' it said to organize the price tag stickers (a large task if you knew how many price tag stickers there are). Well, I had already done that about a week ago, of my own volition, just because I saw that it needed to be done. Yet, there it was on the list of things to do. And so I go and open up the boxes where we keep the price tag stickers and they are all unorganized again! So, I don't understand why I have to organize them again if it's the laziness of other people that had made it get all unorganized in the first place.

The list also said to "clean the poles of the kiosk." What kind of menial task is that?!! The poles weren't even dirty. Not only that, but I wouldn't have such a problem with all of this... it's just that she was at work today for 8 hours, and yet she still managed to come up with a list of things to do that only took me like 2 hours to complete. I honestly don't know what she does, if anything, and that it's probably that she just delegates all the tasks to Tonya and I.

Granted, Megan wasn't a very good manager, not very competent, but at least she didn't cut hours, favor her friends, and leave lists with ultimatum on them.

No recognition. I'm not going to dwell on the "when do I get a promotion" issue. But the other type of recognition is that we get bonuses at the end of the month and they're not based on your sales at all. Which means even though I'm carrying the store with my sales by like 30% to 40% a month, I still only get the same amount of bonus as the person that barely sells anything. What kind of incentive for me is that? Or for any person? When I can work less hard and still get the same compensation. It's ridiculous. Not only that but Tonya does less than the bare minimum and we're still fighting over the hours, and worse, if I do things, she'll oftentimes try to take the credit for it.

It's just so aggravating. I really do love Piercing Pagoda. I love that store. I've put my heart and soul into it. Yet somehow, I just can't work under these people. Nessa is only a year older than me as well. Not in school; has a kid. I mean, I'm the one taking business courses here. She just doesn't have the personality to run it. It's driving me crazy.

We'll just leave it. I'm re-formatting my resume this week. We'll see. I'm out.

Wednesday, April 23, 2008

work... ugh

Sunday (10:30-6:30)
Monday 10:10-12:05, (12:30-2:00) 2:30-3:20 (4:00-7:00)
Tuesday 9:30-1:45 (2:30-5:00)
Wednesday (11:00-2:00) 2:30-3:20 (4:00-7:00)
Thursday 9:30-1:45 (x:xx-9:30)
Friday (2:00-5:00)
Saturday (3:30-9:30)

Total Minimum Work Hrs: 31
Total School Hrs: 12

What you see before you is the tentative schedule for Fall of '08. I'd like to be the first to say that it's going to suck.

Those times in parentheses are work times. Non-parentheses are school times. Those in blue are Piercing Pagoda, and those in red are UTS.

Yeah, I really need a promotion. At this point it seems pretty futile to think that will ever happen. I mean, my regional manager at Piercing Pagoda dangled the title in front of me end of February, and here it is nearing the end of April, two months have gone by. I don't feel like I can even talk to her about it since every time we speak on the phone it seems as if she is too busy to really listen to me. I just wish she had an email address or something, but Piercing Pagoda it seems is all phone-based. Even having a sit-down formal interview would be nice. I could list the reasons for hours about why I'm qualified and prepared to take the position. Despite the fact that I also go to school, I work full-time as it is (32 hours is considered full-time). Not only that, but I absolutely LOVE working at Piercing Pagoda. I enjoy being there, I love my customers (my regulars especially), I like the interaction with people, and heck, I even like piercing ears. I'm great at sales. My numbers prove it. Beyond that, the store itself has been doing great, which was the pretense for those higher-ups to reinstate the job position of Assistant Manager in the first place. We're supposedly getting raises in June. I don't know how to approach the subject of "am I still going to get promoted". I don't want to seem a nag, however, I really, really hate having two jobs. I don't mind the hours, I just want it to be the same. UTS is so dull anyway. It gives me headaches staring at a screen and listening to boring financial people talk about retirement options all day long. Blockbuster is hiring for assistant managers, however, their hours are like until midnight and I would really hate to leave Piercing Pagoda, not after I've put so much time into it and love it so much. Free movies though :) I should pick up an application. In fact, I'm going to go do that right now. Hell. Probably won't get it anyway, but might as well try.

personality continued

So, my friend Tyler told me to take this test instead. Said it was more accurate. It's based on the Meyers- Briggs personality assessment, which my dad said was most accurate.

Taking this I am an ISTJ (Introverted 78, Sensing 25, Thinking 100, Judging 100)

ISTJs are often called inspectors. They have a keen sense of right and wrong, especially in their area of interest and/or responsibility. They are noted for devotion to duty. Punctuality is a watchword of the ISTJ. The secretary, clerk, or business(wo)man by whom others set their clocks is likely to be an ISTJ.

As do other Introverted Thinkers, ISTJs often give the initial impression of being aloof and perhaps somewhat cold. Effusive expression of emotional warmth is not something that ISTJs do without considerable energy loss. (This is why Roi deemed to have such an issue with me I think hahaha -- more on that later.)

ISTJs are most at home with "just the facts, Ma'am." They seem to perform at highest efficiency when employing a step-by-step approach. Once a new procedure has proven itself (i.e., has been shown "to work,") the ISTJ can be depended upon to carry it through, even at the expense of their own health.

ISTJs are easily frustrated by the inconsistencies of others, especially when the second parties don't keep their commitments. But they usually keep their feelings to themselves unless they are asked. And when asked, they don't mince words. Truth wins out over tact. The grim determination of the ISTJ vindicates itself in officiation of sports events, judiciary functions, or an other situation which requires making tough calls and sticking to them.

His SJ orientation draws the ISTJ into the service of established institutions. Home, social clubs, government, schools, the military, churches -- these are the bastions of the SJ. "We've always done it this way" is often reason enough for many ISTJs. Threats to time-honored traditions or established organizations (e.g., a "run" on the bank) are the undoing of SJs, and are to be fought at all costs.

Overall, that's definitely me for the most part.

Just a side note on my life however, apparently Roi has been bad-mouthing me to his friends, saying the reason we didn't "work out" was all my fault etc. This was relayed to my attention by my roommate Nick, who is a mutual friend. Apparently, Nick set the people Roi was talking to about me straight (which is kind of nice to know he's somewhat looking out for me) with what the real deal was. Well, all I have to say on this matter is that if he can't take rejection like a man or accept people for who they are despite things "working out" or not, then he probably shouldn't be dating. I haven't talked to him in a few days. After hearing what Nick said, I'm plenty sure I don't want to. Of all the nerve however, Roi texted me at nearly 1:00am the same night that I heard this news from Nick. I didn't have my phone on. I don't plan on replying. What a douche.

"School's out for summer" means a whole lot of nothing when I'm taking summer classes. Haha.

Tuesday, April 22, 2008

ticket

So, that stupid "running a red light" ticket is going to cost me a whopping $115. Yeah, that's just ridiculous. The below is straight off the Athens Municipal Court website.

FINES FOR TRAFFIC VIOLATIONS
  • Camera Red Light (not subject to surcharges)= $70
  • Disregarding a Red Light or Stop Sign = $115

For these citations, the fine is $90:

  • Driving in the Gore
  • Driving on Wrong Side of Road
  • Failure to Maintain Lane/Improper Lane Usage
  • Failure to Obey Officer Directing Traffic
  • Failure to Yield
  • Failure to Yield to Emergency Vehicle
  • Following Too Close
  • Improper Driving on Roadway/Weaving
  • Improper Driving/Backing
  • Improper Passing/Passing in No-Passing Zone
  • Improper Turn/U-Turn
  • Laying Drags
  • Too Fast for Conditions
  • Unsecured Load / No Flag on Load
  • No Company Name Displayed
  • No Tow Lights
  • No Through Trucks Violation
  • Tarp Violation

For these citations, the fine is $37:

  • Driving with Headphones
  • Failure to Dim Lights
  • Failure to Signal
  • Impeding Flow of Traffic
  • Improper Standing/Stopping
  • Obstructing Intersection
  • Wrong Way on One Way Street


So, whatever, I guess I'll make sure I don't do all those. It was like 2:00am in the morning!! I didn't even SEE the stupid stop sign. I had just driven 2 hours from Atlanta. The website doesn't make it clear if I pay the fine before-hand if I still have to go to court. I'll have to call about that. It's a good thing I have so much discretionary income... otherwise this would suck. Still that's $115 dollars that I won't be spending on food next month. Looks like it's going to be ramen for a while... ick.

Someone told me it wouldn't be more than $25 to $50. . .

Luckily, it appears in Georgia that I would have had my license suspended for that reckless driving infraction because I'm under 21.

I can also plead no-contest and the points will not be assessed to my license. I just can't plead no-contest again for another 5 years. I think I'll save it since I can get up to 15 points on my Georgia license (in a 24-month period) before my license is suspended/revoked. My other points from my reckless driving should be going out here soon anyway, since it only takes two years for points to go away here in Georgia.

Monday, April 21, 2008

insights

So, it's finally the end of the semester. It hardly feels like it's really been a whole year, but yet it has. I'm personally glad of it. Not too much longer until I can just get out into the world. My peers all think I'm crazy for wanting to leave the college life and get a "real job"... but they also don't work 40 hour weeks on top of going to school and maintaining a decent (albeit not superb) GPA. They say I'm missing out on my college experience by graduating early. I say... I'm not really missing out on something if I don't know about it in the first place. I was never really a "joiner" anyway. I did really really enjoy being on crew team and being coxswain. I've never really had that "sport" thing going on... but here was something that was MADE for me... have to be small, light, and good at taking control and issuing orders, being cool headed under stress, and yet still motivating and refreshing. Man, I loved it sooo much. It's just a shame that it's such a time commitment and a budget commitment. I can't do school, work, and crew.... unfortunately it's crew that ended up taking the ax. Maybe one day I can join a club or something.

As noted in my previous post, my newest article is up on Athens Exchange. I am now pretty upset that the so-called editors do not seem to read posts that they place on their website, thereby defeating the purpose of their job... editing, as the second I posted the article, I noticed a typo. It was too late to correct it, and I figured they'd catch it, but there it is, all published online with my name splashed across the front with a really stupid typo right there in the beginning of like the third paragraph. Next time I'm definitely going to have to make sure I get somebody else to proofread my work seeming as my editors serve only it seems as webmasters. Someone else also decided to write an article about Juno reviewing the DVD, and while this guy generally does most of the Now on DVD articles, I feel mine is better. Easy enough for him to write an article on the DVD extras though, unlike mine, because his article was due AFTER the DVD came out.... and not on the same day like mine was (thereby making it virtually impossible to review the DVD extras).

Got my Depo today, what a relief. Without this tri-monthly dose of anti-estrogen, I start feeling all girly and emotional. It's quite a pain, I don't know how women put up with it, or men for that matter. Luckily I'm good at keeping a lid on it, but it usually manifests itself as slight depression for no reason at all (or crying on commercials that are supposed to be funny - like the one advertising the show Big Fat Loser) or over-analyzing things in a negative way that are generally not very important. Like for example, my friend Shawn that I went to Six Flags with my friend Michelle with, telling me it was "aggravating" that we kept saying the word douche in front of everything. Okay, granted it probably was aggravating and annoying for him to not be in on the inside joke that had us clutching our guts all night, but whatever, the use of the word aggravating was mean -- at least that's how I felt before the emotion-killing Depo shot -- which now I feel his statement was probably just that, a statement. Sorry he felt that way. I had a great time.

Speaking of Michelle. I really like her. Every time we hang out, which isn't often given my work schedule, I always have such a great time. She and I think a lot alike, have the same taste in music and people, same critical antagonizing humor. I think she'd be best friend material if I tried to spend more time hanging out. She'll be here over the summer like me, so I'm going to work on that. I hang out with too many dudes now, so it'd be good to get some 'girl time' in there. I don't really count living with lesbians as girl time either.

I need to invest in those little ear bud headphones with squishy foam that expands in your ear and is noise blocking for work at UTS since the headphones they have sort of give me a headache because they make my ears hurt after wearing them too long. << Is that a run-on?

Saturday, April 19, 2008

random

So, my head is killing me. I've been getting weird headaches recently for no reason. I thought it was the fact that my contacts weren't my prescription and so it's just eye strain, but that would mean taking my contacts out would ease the eyes. Not. I don't know what it is. I don't even have Tylenol because I'm never in pain or have headaches, this has just been one migraine every two weeks.

The roomies are being loud playing Wii. It's only 11:30 and normally I'd be up playing but I think it's just been a long two days.

I got a ticket for failing to stop at a stop sign. It's just the UGA police, so hopefully it will just be a small fine.

I'm going to set up mobile blogging because my best ideas for blog material come randomly (often times while I'm at work). So, seeming as I have a horribly absent minded memory, sending myself a reminder from my phone to my blog will probably be the best thing.

Still have yet to come up with a better blog name.

My newest Athens Exchange article will be out soon. I hope the editor reads it before he posts it... there's a typo. I spelled capture like "caputre". OpenOffice spell check didn't catch it. Argh.

I'm reading this book called Maximum Ride: The Angel Experiment by James Patterson. My little brother Corey gave it to me to read. I thought it was going to be stupid, after all my brother is 12 and not exactly reading psychological thrillers by Dean Koontz and Anne Rice like I read, but it actually is pretty good. The chapters are very short, which is excellent for when I'm at work, I don't have to stop in the middle of a chapter. It's clearly geared for pre-teen reading but it still was on the #1 on the New York Times best seller for two weeks straight (according to the back of the book). It's a good read so far. It's about genetically altered children trying to escape from the experimentors.

Well, bedtime. Out.

Thursday, April 17, 2008

personality profile

So, today I had accounting today, but since we've already had the last test (which I'm really worried about since it seemed almost too easy), she had a guest speaker come in and talk to us about D.I.S.C. personality types. That stands for the four personality types, Drive, Influence, Steadiness, Compliance. Well, needless to say, I'm almost a full D, but I do have some C traits as well. If you want to know about each of these personality types, you can visit that link.

So, yeah, I'm definitely a D type personality with a little bit of C type coming into play as well. That really explains a lot about the types of people that I do associate myself with though, and the types of people that I can't stand associating with. I don't really like I personalities because they're way too happy and optimistic and touchy-feely. They like to give all those details and "fluff" that I don't really care about. I just want things straight to the point and blunt. That's probably why Roi and I can't even stand to be friends now. He is always freaked out when I'd be blunt, and get really upset if I at all criticized him in anyway. He was way too emotionally aware and needed all that touchy-feeliness all the time. Definitely not me. I think I'd be best suited for a C type personality. I mean, I couldn't do a D type, because that'd be too much of too independent people, but the C type probably would work best because we communicate the same way, but we think about things differently.

Ironicaly enough, the group of four friends (well three including myself) that eat lunch with each other every Friday probably each fall into each category. That's probably why we get along so well, because we all compliment each other in different ways. Hugo is the I. Definitely very emotional, optimistic, talkative and trusting. Katie is probably more the S, she's steady, predictable, understanding, and friendly. That leaves Tyler being the C. He's the conscientious, thoughtful, and even-tempered one. Haha, yep, I bet if we all took those personality tests, we would come out exactly each of us being one.

So, that's good to know. I always wondered why we get along as well as we do... we don't have anything in common really. Tyler's a political science major, Katie's an anthropology/psych major, Hugo's a religion grad student, and duh, I'm a journalism major. Weird how that worked out.

So, that's about it. I have to work today, that's a bummer, but only for four hours. Then I'm coming home, finish cleaning up for tomorrow, and then watching Deal to write a movie review for the Athens Exchange online newspapers.

Speaking of that. I finally have my first ever article posted on Tuesday. There's two typos apparently... but what can I say, it's my first article ever. I'll be more careful next time, as I suppose the editor of the site didn't read it before he published it. When my next article gets published I'll be sure to leave a link here as well. So, better go eat, and get things done.

Six Flags tomorrow! Should be a blast!

Monday, April 14, 2008

tuna salad and a boogey

So, I'm sitting in the SLC. I wasn't really planning on writing a rant blog this early in my blogging career. Honestly. That's just when it hit me that I'm probably very irritable right now. I can't figure out why, I'm just looking around and feeling irritated. It could be because it's getting quite chilly in here on the 4th floor. It could be because some guy sat down in my line of site and decided to eat a tuna sandwich on a croissant with lettuce, tomato, and mayo and all I've had to eat are one of those "breakfast drinks". Yum, not so much. Tuna sandwiches with lettuce and tomato are almost my all time favorite sandwiches, competing with egg salad and chicken salad sandwiches... also with lettuce and tomato. The problem with that is that lettuce and tomato don't keep in the fridge for very long (neither would tuna, egg, or chicken salad)... so unless i just want to eat -- OMG that tuna sandwich kid just ate a booger... OMG, totally just lost my appetite. Wow. Not hungry anymore. I think I might just leave. Ew. I think once you hit college age, eating of boogers should be a habit that you should refrain from in polite/public company.

20 minutes until my next class... then I can go home and eat. I have a quesadilla salad left-over from dinner last night from Chili's. 7.99 for two meals worth of food! Bargain. Excellent. Just want to note that I finally came through on John's "steak dinner". He did in fact order steak. I no longer owe him. (yet another reason why my food being cheap was a good idea)

Hm, perhaps my irritableness is related to hunger. I should pack snacks. Like cheese popcorn, or cheddar and sour-cream potato chips. Those are my new favorite things. I can't seem to get enough of them. Yums. Yay for junk food. Maybe I'll gain some weight. -- And here I am dreaming about the salad I'm going home to. Rabbit food. At least it has chicken.

fun quote::

Substitute "damn" in every time you're inclined to write "very." Your editor will delete it and your writing will be as it should be. - Mark Twain

Backgrounder/First Blog Ever

So, I admit, the name of my blog is a work in progress. We'll see how that goes, hopefully I'll get a bit of inspiration sometime in the near future and we can change that. For now, my First Ever Blog - how this will be dubbed -- doesn't even have a basic theme yet. I mean sure, what will probably end up happening is that it'll just be a "life" blog... and who knows if my life is really interesting enough for people to read. However, I may feel inspired to publish some of my own fiction writing ideas or whatnot. I've a few of those already. I should just vomit post them to flesh this thing out.

History of Me
- Born in Bitburg, Germany
- Air Force Brat
- Lived in Germany for 11 years
- Graduated from Tabb High School in Virginia
- Go to University of Georgia
- Major in Publication Management
- Work two part-time jobs for a total of 35-40 hours a week
- .... ?

So, we'll see how this all pans out. I'm kind of hoping that all people whose intention it is to write their first blog are also at a loss for what to write in their first post. Otherwise, I might just be behind the 8-ball here. :( That would be distressing.