So, I feel like I'm starting to be like a disgruntled employee. Today, I came to work in a good mood, and then slowly but surely it just went downhill from there. It started with the fact that my regional was supposed to have stopped by th store yesterday. I had asked Nessa to get her email address for me so I could email my regional about that promotion. When I arrived at work however, Nessa barely said two words to me and then left. She also left me The List. This is the list of things that I'm supposed to do during my shift. Now, I don't mind that she leaves lists for me. I like lists. They're regimented and structureed and clear. What I don't like is little "inserts" like - (verbatim) DO NOT BS and sign off the list please (underlined twice). Like I don't do my job. Like she has to worry about me BSing the list and just signing off that I completed it when I didn't really. Like she has to leave little inserts like that. That's not the first time she's left them either. Last Thursday she left a list covering both sides of the paper for Tonya and I to complete. Her little 'insert' said - You have PLENTY of time to do this. DO NOT leave the kiosk and go wandering around. If I find out that you've been slacking off you will get a write up! I am pretty sure she ended her 'insert' with something like "have a good day," or something. I mean, that's a blatant threat. And granted she may have left that for Tonya's notice and not mine. (Tonya who ended up doing jack diddly on the list by the way). I feel like if she has a problem with Tonya than she should direct it at her and not make it a "general" note to everybody.
It just feels like she doesn't recognize what I do. She's cut my hours and she's giving them to her little friend that she just hired, even though a fourth key is only supposed to get 8 hours, she's giving her 17 (ie. more than me). I looked at sales today for the month. I am bringing in roughly 40% of the sales into that store and only working about 20% of the hours. Yet, I get no recognition. If I don't tell her that I do something, she doesn't notice. Case in point - on today's 'to-do list' it said to organize the price tag stickers (a large task if you knew how many price tag stickers there are). Well, I had already done that about a week ago, of my own volition, just because I saw that it needed to be done. Yet, there it was on the list of things to do. And so I go and open up the boxes where we keep the price tag stickers and they are all unorganized again! So, I don't understand why I have to organize them again if it's the laziness of other people that had made it get all unorganized in the first place.
The list also said to "clean the poles of the kiosk." What kind of menial task is that?!! The poles weren't even dirty. Not only that, but I wouldn't have such a problem with all of this... it's just that she was at work today for 8 hours, and yet she still managed to come up with a list of things to do that only took me like 2 hours to complete. I honestly don't know what she does, if anything, and that it's probably that she just delegates all the tasks to Tonya and I.
Granted, Megan wasn't a very good manager, not very competent, but at least she didn't cut hours, favor her friends, and leave lists with ultimatum on them.
No recognition. I'm not going to dwell on the "when do I get a promotion" issue. But the other type of recognition is that we get bonuses at the end of the month and they're not based on your sales at all. Which means even though I'm carrying the store with my sales by like 30% to 40% a month, I still only get the same amount of bonus as the person that barely sells anything. What kind of incentive for me is that? Or for any person? When I can work less hard and still get the same compensation. It's ridiculous. Not only that but Tonya does less than the bare minimum and we're still fighting over the hours, and worse, if I do things, she'll oftentimes try to take the credit for it.
It's just so aggravating. I really do love Piercing Pagoda. I love that store. I've put my heart and soul into it. Yet somehow, I just can't work under these people. Nessa is only a year older than me as well. Not in school; has a kid. I mean, I'm the one taking business courses here. She just doesn't have the personality to run it. It's driving me crazy.
We'll just leave it. I'm re-formatting my resume this week. We'll see. I'm out.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment