Monday, April 21, 2008

insights

So, it's finally the end of the semester. It hardly feels like it's really been a whole year, but yet it has. I'm personally glad of it. Not too much longer until I can just get out into the world. My peers all think I'm crazy for wanting to leave the college life and get a "real job"... but they also don't work 40 hour weeks on top of going to school and maintaining a decent (albeit not superb) GPA. They say I'm missing out on my college experience by graduating early. I say... I'm not really missing out on something if I don't know about it in the first place. I was never really a "joiner" anyway. I did really really enjoy being on crew team and being coxswain. I've never really had that "sport" thing going on... but here was something that was MADE for me... have to be small, light, and good at taking control and issuing orders, being cool headed under stress, and yet still motivating and refreshing. Man, I loved it sooo much. It's just a shame that it's such a time commitment and a budget commitment. I can't do school, work, and crew.... unfortunately it's crew that ended up taking the ax. Maybe one day I can join a club or something.

As noted in my previous post, my newest article is up on Athens Exchange. I am now pretty upset that the so-called editors do not seem to read posts that they place on their website, thereby defeating the purpose of their job... editing, as the second I posted the article, I noticed a typo. It was too late to correct it, and I figured they'd catch it, but there it is, all published online with my name splashed across the front with a really stupid typo right there in the beginning of like the third paragraph. Next time I'm definitely going to have to make sure I get somebody else to proofread my work seeming as my editors serve only it seems as webmasters. Someone else also decided to write an article about Juno reviewing the DVD, and while this guy generally does most of the Now on DVD articles, I feel mine is better. Easy enough for him to write an article on the DVD extras though, unlike mine, because his article was due AFTER the DVD came out.... and not on the same day like mine was (thereby making it virtually impossible to review the DVD extras).

Got my Depo today, what a relief. Without this tri-monthly dose of anti-estrogen, I start feeling all girly and emotional. It's quite a pain, I don't know how women put up with it, or men for that matter. Luckily I'm good at keeping a lid on it, but it usually manifests itself as slight depression for no reason at all (or crying on commercials that are supposed to be funny - like the one advertising the show Big Fat Loser) or over-analyzing things in a negative way that are generally not very important. Like for example, my friend Shawn that I went to Six Flags with my friend Michelle with, telling me it was "aggravating" that we kept saying the word douche in front of everything. Okay, granted it probably was aggravating and annoying for him to not be in on the inside joke that had us clutching our guts all night, but whatever, the use of the word aggravating was mean -- at least that's how I felt before the emotion-killing Depo shot -- which now I feel his statement was probably just that, a statement. Sorry he felt that way. I had a great time.

Speaking of Michelle. I really like her. Every time we hang out, which isn't often given my work schedule, I always have such a great time. She and I think a lot alike, have the same taste in music and people, same critical antagonizing humor. I think she'd be best friend material if I tried to spend more time hanging out. She'll be here over the summer like me, so I'm going to work on that. I hang out with too many dudes now, so it'd be good to get some 'girl time' in there. I don't really count living with lesbians as girl time either.

I need to invest in those little ear bud headphones with squishy foam that expands in your ear and is noise blocking for work at UTS since the headphones they have sort of give me a headache because they make my ears hurt after wearing them too long. << Is that a run-on?

No comments: