Tuesday, May 6, 2008

end on dissapointment

So, guess what? School is out. Woot. At least until May 13th when my first summer class starts. Then I also pick up crazy amounts of hours at work. Well okay so it'll be just like regular school semester at that pace haha. I can't win. :D I'm fine with it though. I'm just excited school is over! Yay!

So, I've been having things to write about in the interim whilst I have been away, but I've either been too busy or too tired to write in here. So, here I am.

First, woot, my X factor at UTS is averaging like 1.7. Which equates to about $8.50 an hour. And this week it's prorated up $8 scribe rate (virtually making a 1.7 X factor equate to about $11 an hour). Honestly, I just got home from 6 straight hours of scribing, and yet here I am typing. I guess there must be a big difference in pleasure typing and typing for work.

Also big update. They fired Tonya at Piercing Pagoda. Meaning, well that frees up hours that my regional said was needed for me to get promoted. Also there's big talk that they're going to transfer Nessa (the manager) to Kennesaw. This talk was verified by the fact that I got an application handed to me from a girl applying for manager. Honestly, the turnover in this place is ridicuoulsous. Bottom line, I still may be up for that promotion. Other adjacent bottom line. I don't know if I want it. If I take it, it'll mean more added responsibilities, actually having to do work while I'm at the kiosk (instead of homework or reading in down time). Not that Nessa's little lists leave me much time anymore. Sunday I didn't finish one of her stupid lists just because I didn't feel like it. So, whatever. they can't fire me. They only have three people working there now. But yeah, also if I take it, I'll be obligated to put in 32 hours at least every single week no exceptions, and if I want to take off, I have to formerly request it and am only given so many "hours" off per whatever cycle they're on. I don't know if I want to limit myself into that sort of situation.

Granted my second job isn't so glorious or fun, but it does have the most flexible scheduling ever... not to mention occassional incentives to work more or overtime. (Like prorated increases in the scribe rate and overtime compensation.) I can put in as many hours as I want, minimum of 16, but if I need to take off work (and I know in advance) I don't have to work 16 hours in a week if I don't want to. Not only that, but there is also talk that Piercing Pagoda won't renew their lease of the floor space in the mall come December, which would leave me without a job entirely if I had to take the full-time assistant manager position.

I think it's all going to come down to the pros and cons, and shoot, they might not even promote me at all. In which case, I am worrying over nothing.

Okay, so enough work stuff. I'm going to cut all my hair off soon like I did last summer. Whatever, it's hot. It's to go with my complete makeover, including weight gain, a possible repiercing of the eyebrow, and so forth.

I've been thinking I want to try out one of those sensory deprivation chambers. I can't seem to find a spa even in Atlanta that has one though. Still.

So, I went to the library on Saturday -- side note that John keeps blasting his music so loud just because he knows it bothers me. I don't know how he gets his speakers to go that loud honestly, without blowing out. Douche. It's a good thing I'm not trying to nap. Oh, here he comes to see how it worked... apparently he's just "testing" the strength of his speakers. Daft Punk. -- So yeah, library on Saturday. I checked out the second book of that Maximum Ride series and read it in 2 days, 400 pages. Granted it's 400 pages on a 7th grade reading level but honestly, I couldn't even start studying for exams till I put it down. I forgot how much I love reading. It's almost a bad a habit as me drinking a gallon of milk a week. I also checked out some one of the adult books by the same author. I haven't started it yet because I had two exams to study for and I didn't want to get wrapped up in it. Still, it should be pretty good. The library made me pay $2 for a stupid library card replacement. Lame.

I think I need a nap. I've been up since 7:00am since I had an 8:00am exam for Marketing. Grades will come out soon.

Oh God. Here it is... my Accounting grade... I haven't looked yet but I have the screen open. Final grades are posted. *Gulp* Worst case scenario is a C+ best case is a B. Hopefully I got at least a B-, that was what I was shooting for. *takes a deep breath* Damn. That's flipping disappointing. 65 on the final. All I needed was a 70, that's TWO FRIGGIN questions. Darn. Oh well, C+ it is. Bummer. I hate Accounting. Oh gee. I'm in the top percentile of student that got between a 60 and 70. Yay for being average. Grr. Not. And with that, my term average is 3.22 and my overall GPA is a measly 3.14. Whatever, summer classes that are all A's will hopefully balance that out a bit more before the start of next term.

No comments: