Friday, May 30, 2008

it's stupid to think of a title for this entry

So, my financial plan for this fall is going to be drastically different than the one I've been going with. Maybe even earlier, after June 15 when I transfer the last lump sum into my savings account. Because honestly, I always feel like I'm like scrimping and saving for no good reason. Once my rent goes down, my fixed expenses will be a mere $450, and my conservative income will be $800. So, I figure if I just save all the excess income over and above $800 every month (or whatever my pay check is over $200 every week) then I'll still be saving, and still have quite a bit of discretionary income to put toward, I don't know, good food. I'm kind of sick off of living off of pasta. Then, I can save the excess as usual, until it reaches a certain point and then transfer half of it into savings. That way, I'm not so hard pressed to save anymore since I won't have an actual "goal" of how much to save like I've been doing. After all, I'm still frugal to the point of being cheap, so unless I start eating out all the time (which I won't do unless like dollar menu from Wendy's or something) then it should be fine.

If I had a dollar for every time the boys cussed while playing Super Smash Brawl, I wouldn't need a second job.

I thought about going back to Jason's Deli today. That would be fun, except I'd be taking a $1 pay cut and up the hours to not getting out until 10:30 and smelling like Jason's Deli. Still, maybe it'd be fun, and I'd get my discount back.

Maybe I'm just looking for a change. Any change. I think this schedule is burning me out right now. Still, I'd like to go up and better instead of down and not better. It might be better at first, but then I'd probably regret it.

I sort of wish I didn't have to work. That'd be nice. Then I could do crew, or just pick up a part time job like a few times a week just for fun money or something. And if I didn't like the job, it wouldn't matter, I could just not do it, so I could get a part time job that was good and fun. I think the mentality would be different if I knew I was working for pleasure because I enjoy working as apposed to I'm working to pay bills and eat. Different motivator. I'm thinking once I get out of the death grip of wanting to save all the frickin time, it's like an obsession or some kind of OCD really at this point, then I might actually have a good time. Maybe if food and gas wasn't so expensive. $350 discretionary income goes by quite quickly after paying for food and gas at the end of the month. Not that I really buy anything else. Good living for me would be for me to afford steak and roast beef on a fairly regular basis, not going out and buying.... what? Clothes and jewelry? Yeah, so, new savings plan will be activated after I get my savings to a healthy $3000 and then I think I'll be done with the intense savings and live a little.... buy meat. Wooooo.

It always seems like these are the main topics of my life doesnt it? Work, school, and the status of my finances. Kind of sad really. I do have a life. Honestly. It just doesn't seem like there's much to talk about. Hang out, play smash brawl, smoke hookah, watch episodes of Arrested Development curled on the couch with my roommate John, Thursday night movie nights, an occasional smattering of parties. The bbq day was fun. Now that I have a grill we should try to do that more often.

Oh, speaking of parties, I think it's Michael Will's birthday party tonight. I think John wanted to go. All he's got is a keg, ew beer, carbonated, so I'll end up being DD. Which is going to make it lame, since Michael Will is lame, and the only reason John wants to go is the free beer. Maybe he won't want to go. He's got a few friends over right now, and I don't feel like being out there watching them play smash, as it's terribly one sided because John is good and everyone else sucks. The only good part is I get to take pot shots at how miserable a player Franqui is. That's probably not really fair because Nick plays too and he's pretty bad, and I'm pretty bad too. Still, I have to live with Nick, so Franqui it is. Last time they played, there were on team play and playing intense and there was one level they couldn't get past... and of course Franqui kept dying within seconds, and so finally, they'd almost beat the boss, Franqui died and it was just John left and the boss had like two more hits till he was dead, and (mind you, there are other people around watching this as they started yelling and screaming at the TV and drawing attention) and Franqui screams out "oh my god, if you do this, I'll totally suck your dick!" This is seconds before John beats the boss. So, yeah, pot shots at Franqui are pretty easy, seeming as he sets himself up, and that joke did not die down all night after he said that.

I guess I'm going to go feed myself and get my laundry out of the washer.

No comments: