So, the time draws near when Nick and the Lesbians (aka Michelle and Roxanne aka Rachel) will be leaving the apartment. August 1st actually.
While John seems to be the happiest person in the world about it, I just worry about the next tenants. Currently we only have one confirmed tenant. That person is unknown however, and even though Roxanne works at The Club's office, and I asked her to get me the name of the person, of course she did not.
Paranoia in the house has reached an all-time high, mainly resulting from the tension created between John and the others about food ownership. It has culminated with the apparent theft of Nick's home theater projector, an estimated value of $1,500 or more (it is a nice one). This that he borrowed from the OIT office where he works, and now has to pay for it if it doesn't show up. Naturally suspicion fell on John, slight suspicion falling on me (but I suspect the undertone of accusation that he used with me was simply because he was upset about this disappearance). I don't think John would have done something like that, and I really hope he didn't, however it is quite strange that it just up and disappeared and yet the Wii and the Wii games as well as the Play Station and my monitor and other things of value did not disappear from the apartment. Most of the burglaries that have occurred in this complex have involved more than one thing being stolen. It is quite strange.
I am now on the task of having to think about buying kitchen supplies, flatware, dishware, and cookware, as well as a toaster or toaster oven.
Lucky for me, the appliances can be easily and cheaply bought at Goodwill (I might even throw in a slow cooker just for the hell of it.)
However, I find myself looking at elegant sets of dishes, extremely expensive knife sets, and Calphalon cook wares, and not wanting to settle for cheap stuff. I'm not really sure why. I guess it's because I used my dad's Calphalon stuff for so long that I'm spoiled about it. I also don't want a crappy knife set either. So, *sigh*, apparently I've discovered a weakness for high quality kitchen ware. So, I'll have to budget. Of course this is becoming increasingly difficult to do, as my next paycheck I'll be bringing in this coming Wednesday will be $700 plus, and the idea that "hmm, I don't have to settle for a cheap block of kitchen knives because I make an ass ton of money" is more and more appealing. I mean, 700... that's more than break even for a month! So, then I think to myself what do I know about good kitchen knives? I don't really cook anyway. I am planning on cooking more though this year by going to the store most nights to pick out exactly what foods I want for dinner, since I'm pretty sick and tired of instant soup, frozen bag dinners, frozen foods, and hamburger helper, or complete meals in a box. Out of necessity for variety will stem great cooking skills. I also think that since I've been dreaming incessantly about the chance to finally not have an odd assortment of kitchen wares in the house, the fact that all my dishes, cooking ware, and silverware is going to be matching is completely drool worthy. I think I'm just OCD like that, in that it bothers me that our dishes don't match, or that we have like three small omelette pans for no reason... and things like that.
So, in light of this, I also have these knick knack junks that I plan on selling somewhere either on eBay or Amazon. I've got these two porcelain dolls that have been wrapped in newspaper almost since I have had them and are in perfect condition, as well as this decorative collector's edition plate thing. I'm thinking I can fetch about $130 total for it after shipping costs. The dolls I can probably get $50 each, and the plate $30 since they only made like 10 and whatever it's collectible. And thus I will have funds for kitchen wares without dipping into my $1,500 monthly income for July. I would like to note that while this does sounds a bit stingy, I will not be working for five days the first week of August as I'll be going down to Universal Studios with my mother and little brother. And the subsequent week, I will be cutting my own hours down to 16 for the week before school starts so I can unwind a bit before jumping again into work/school mode. It's for sanity purposes, but I still will be not working as much, and thusly, not making as much income, so thus is the reason for me working my ass off this month.
So, now that I've managed to procrastinate for a couple hours for studying for my econ test tomorrow, I guess I'll go do that.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment