So, I think I've decided I might not do crew this fall like I had planned earlier. The rationale behind this is rising gas prices and mileage. It's 30 miles one way to Lake Yargo where practice is. Practice is three times a week. That's a total of 120 miles a week not including miles driving to and from school and to and from work, which is about 50 a week give or take. Not to mention that on regatta's, you have to drive there too, and those are sometimes really far. Now, people do carpool, but having my experience from last year before last, that still wasn't always reliable and I often times found myself the odd sheep out when it came to carpooling. It's just that coxswains and rowers aren't like buddy buddy because we're a higher echelon, I mean, we're the ones telling them to row, and who don't have to row, and I think there's some disdain there. Whatever the reason, the gas prices the way they are, I honestly don't want to be forking out a bunch of dough on gas, and don't want to be putting that kind of mileage on my POS car either. With my luck something would break or fall off the car on my way to Chattanooga for a regatta and then I'd be hosed. I'm not really too torn up about it. When I was looking at my class schedule for next year and trying to figure out when I could have practice and when I could go to work (I have to put in a minimum 16 hours a week Monday - Friday at work) I'd still be busy off my ass crazy. Like, I have the time in a day to do it, but I'd be doing something from like dawn to dusk. So, it's a college campus. I'm sure there's more than a bajillion things I could do instead with my free time. I like GORP (Georgia Outdoor Recreation Program). They do these cool trips like rock climbing, kayaking, paragliding, camping, scuba diving, and all sorts of neat stuff that I could do. I want to take a yoga class. I might do Georgia Gameday, like I tried to do last year, that's the TV program that they show before games and I tried to do production (like editing room stuff) and I didn't have time. (Plus, I don't know, it's the Mac editing software and I don't know how to use a Mac or its programs it's like a foreign world so it sort of scared me off of it. They said that Mac editing and graphic stuff is supposed to be the most user friendly, but I didn't find it to be that way at all. ) Still. I mean, the possibilities are endless. I did like crew, but I don't want to fill my extra time up with something else that will be crazy busy too. I want time to read. Books. For fun. I mean, I'm reading some now in the summer (not as much as I'd like) and GOD I love to read, and reading makes me want to write, and ultimately, that's what I want to do. Write books. So, I mean, hell. I could also volunteer. I could pretty much volunteer anywhere. I mean, who knows. It's all possible. I just have to see what I want to do. Something that really jumps out at me.
And now what you've all been waiting for, the room redecoration! Just like to say that I managed to do this in three days.
These are the before pictures. Note that the reason my room is messy is because I'd already started to move stuff around before I thought that maybe I should take "before" pictures.
So, really, these are during the "get everything out of the room" time. Still.
And these babies are the after pictures. My my, I should be an interior decorator or something. Honestly.
No comments:
Post a Comment